

8 THE ASSAM TRIBUNE, GUWAHATI

WEDNESDAY, MAY 17, 2023

'Young Scientist' award winner Dr Moon Moon Devi feted

CORRESPONDENT

TEZPUR, May 16: Tezpur University Teachers' Association (TUTA) on Monday felicitated Dr Moon Moon Devi, assistant professor of the Department of Physics, Tezpur University, for bagging the prestigious State award for 'Young Scientist/ Innovator' for the year 2022 from the Assam Science Technology and Environment Council (ASTEC) for her outstanding contribution towards the field of research.

Devi's research interests

physics, detector simulation and instrumentation, and machine learning-based data analysis of particle detectors for high-energy physics. She has worked on the simulation and physics potential study of the atmospheric neutrino interactions at the proposed magnetized iron calorimeter detector at India-based Neutrino Observatory (INO).

She has also developed and characterised a prototype stack of six-gap Resistive Plate Chamber (RPC) detectors. She has worked are in the fields of neutrino on developing an experimental setup using photomultiplier detectors at Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, which aims to study the scintillation behaviour in liquid xenon. Devi is the PI of the NuAPP (Neutrino & Astro-Particle Physics) laboratory at the Physics department of Tezpur University. Her group is currently involved in simulation, instrumentation and physics analysis for the Japan-based Hyper-Kamiokande Neutrino Experiment, and the GRAPES-3 experiment of TIFR in Ooty.

The felicitation pro-

gramme was attended by all the executive members of TUTA along with faculty members from the Department of Physics. President of TUTA. Prof Debendra Chandra Baruah, welcomed all the members and congratulated Devi for winning the prestigious award and mentioned that her achievement has done the university proud. He also stated that this news should spread far and wide so that all the stakeholders, including the students of the university, can inspiration from her feat.

Prof Nilakshi Das, Prof

Pritam Deb and Prof Mrinal Kumar Das of the Department of Physics lauded Devi for her achievement. Secretary of TUTA, Dr Pranjal Gogoi and executive member of TUTA, Dr Kusum K Bania, Dr Mridul Dutta and Madhumita Acharya, also praised Devi for her work and achievement.

Dr Moon Moon Devi, in her speech, thanked TUTA members for organising the felicitation programme and said it would inspire her to continue to work for the betterment of the department and the university.